Motorbike Tripping

As I feel that I am badly and desperately need a holiday as a prevention from going loco over loaded weeks from job I had to (well.. voluntarily) said yes to Yufi when he asked whether I would take a leave on February 4th, if I do, that makes a long weekend since February 3rd is a Chinese New Year holiday. Thankfully my lovely boss let me take a leave on the day

Now where do we go? He said Garut and the route to take is south coastal beach. “what..?” “Yep we will go through Pengalengan and go to bla bla” okay okay sounds fun and exciting.

I am all excited (never been to Garut before or maybe I have had but completely being amnesia about it) and prepared, I even bought a new riding shoes as my lovely boots has quit on me.  Yufi also have had his bike pampered so that it will endure my weight ( God I hate being a lil bit overweight) and of course to endure the road also

Wednesday night I went crazy, my report hadn’t finished yet, I had 2 groups which the last one ends at 9pm, I am such a dead meat I thought..and all the clients all of a sudden nagged me at the same time.

But I thank Allah, I eventually finished the report at 11 pm, made a costing (of which the client sent me a reply stating the no of  FGD has been changed, shoot)and Farah helped me taking over a DG, so I went home happy (apparently the client comes back with revision and had to bothered Lia and my boss Nilanjan, so sorry guys)

Day 1

We woke up at 4 am, took a shower, did subuh praying, got pretty and done up, kissed my baby, whispering that mommy and daddy will be back on Saturday, kissed my mom and took off.

Wohooooooooo the tripping begins…..

We went through Bekasi up to Klari passing Karawang turn right for the alternative road to Purwakarta before that we took a ciggy break at Karawang ring road and watching youngsters flocking and jogging.

We arrived at Purwakarta at around 7 am planning to have some breakfast but then decided to continue riding to Padalarang to save time. We somehow felt the urge to have a second ciggy break and stopped by a street side warung to have a cup of coffee and a ciggy break, spent about 15 – 20 minutes before heading to Padalarang to find our way to Pangalengan.

Yufi asked which route I took last time I went to Pangalengan and of course I forgot because I slept all the way there last time (that’s a reason for having a chaffeur so you can save up your energy to yapping in the FGD), sorry love I can’t help you here hehehe

Anyway we finally found the right way to go and my God I thought Jakarta people drive and ride aggressively, boy I was wrong..

We finally arrived in Pangalengan and our destination is Malabar tea plantation, I read in a magazine that there is a tea house called Bosscha House where you can sip a tea from the Malabar tea factory.   We stopped there watching a group of women hand picking tea leaves – I like the weather, cool and breezy. Always love that kind of weather. We asked around for a way to Boscha house when we finally found the place, I was kinda shocked, no not because the place was grand or Starbucks look alike tea house or anything but it was a grave of Meneer Bosscha himself! waw not the kind of tea house I expected, but since we were already there might as well we take a look around.

So now I know that he is not only built that famous Bosscha telescope but he also built bunch of buildings in Bandung like gedung sate and the ITB building as well as expanded Malabar tea plantation and made it famous at that time, as told by the caretaker. He led such a great life I guess eh? When we finally found his real house, it has been turned into a guest house so that visitors can stay a night or two in the tea plantation. I have the room rate here with me will create a link to it when I have time. But it has no tea house. I found that the tea house is located in the factory (its the opposite area from the guest house) and it is part of the Agri-tourism which the factory sets up for visitors.   Might come back later with Cica. No tea for me this time…

Anyhow after several pictures taken, we have to continue our ride to the next destination – Rancabuaya.  We asked several people about which way is the best way to take, each and everyone of them gave us a different route to Cisewu, a village that leads to Rancabuaya not to mention the language breakdown – most seem lacking knowledge of conversing in Bahasa Indonesia and my Sundanese is a complete mess,  so there we were trying to explain each other out in our separate way. We finally took one advice that was a close match to the Goggle Maps direction.   He said the road is a hot mix asphalt but it wasn’t so hot mix as we thought, it was barely hot mix at all instead it was a rock path all the way. Great!  it was too late to reverse we had no choice but going through the bumpy, uneven, rocks scattered road wohoooooo!

The greenery was breathtaking and we could see a glimpse of lake Cileunca (situ Cileunca for natives) another urge to take pictures rose all of a sudden. I don’t know why my husband’s appetite for having himself photoed was high, blame the view I guess hehehe

A wee bit later we finally sat nicely on the motorbike continue riding and bouncing up and down accordingly. “Don’t worry baby, my tire fit perfectly for the kinda road condition” told Yufi smugly of his SB117 tires. O well you just have to trust the “sendal jepit” tires don’t you? Tsskkk

Man, we passed several acres of tea trees and several villages but the road seemed endless, we were kinda desperate there and felt a bit sick from the bouncing sessions we are experiencing and it wasn’t even near end yet. And then…a big old building rose in front of our eyes with a big “Pasir Malang Tea Factory” written on its gate, yaaaaay we are nearly there, another 15 minutes of rocky road we found our light at the end of a tunnel.   We took left as directed and our eyes were once again spoil by a breathtaking view of greenery and tea plantation, cliff and all of its friends.

The road changed from old asphalt to a fresh hot mix asphalt, yeehaaaaaa!!!
Another stop to satisfy Yufi’s hunger for taking pictures of himself and the bike hahahahaha me, too.

Riding again with “woow” and “wooooow” from both of us commenting the scenery, it was really enthralling, before we were shocked by the next road condition, it was no longer hot mix neither old asphalt, it was a completely dirt road with loose gravels, it was a new road on the making lucky none of us have a heart problem otherwise we would have been dropped dead at that instance. We gave our self a happy thought by saying “yaaay advencaah” right on!!

We creeped our way slowly through the road taking it easy as of any other mountain road, it was upward and downward slope, steep and has sharp bend segments all the way up and down and sandwiched by the abyss on both its side,  it was a bit slippery even for the “sandal jepit” tires I kept reminding Yufi to take the road slowly

My God lucky it wasn’t raining or anything otherwise I might have to follow Yufi on foot hahahah a bit breathtaking in a different way.   Still managed to take a couple of pictures as a proof we have passed the road once, as it may not be the same condition if  we go through it again next time.

The road is unbelievably bumpy all the way up and down, slippery on most path which we passed through because of the rocks,as they are scattered all over, yufi’s handling it quite well maybe because the bike’s weight is lighter than we normally had in previous trips. We packed quite light this time.

The bumpy, bouncy road seemed nothing compared to the view served to us along the road, can’t really imagine that we actually going through several mountains to get to Rancabuaya but when you  look behind you will be surprised.    Not really up for stopping but apparently our tummy didn’t agree with us, we stopped at a village called Ciawitali to have late lunch the only choice there was mie sedaap so there we were munching on mie sedaap, after done with our late lunch, we continued on.

It was another 28 km to go to Cisewu, still going through a bumpy road but not all were gravels and dirt it was old road with broken asphalt, much better…

Finally we got to a cross road and I saw a glimpse of the sign pointing left for Rancabuaya. We asked an ojek driver to make sure the sign is valid, it was, so we turned left and continued on. A dozen of steep upward slope and a scary down slope and another steep upward slope we got to see the ocean, “helloooo ocean!!” Yep that’s the view of Rancabuaya coast!!!!!

We rode for another 20 minutes or so (or maybe even more, I was too excited to actually notice the time..) before finally arrived at Rancabuaya, headed straight to the beach looking for this guy Mang Yaya, who is the famous bungalow broker in town (next time you go there, ask for his name, he’ll show you several bungalows available for rent) after several weighing between one bungalow over the other, we decided to take the much smaller one and headed directly to the place.  The place was located 2 bridges after the intersection, it was on the  road towards Pameungpeuk, it is on the right hand side of the road.  The bungalow was nice, a little bit abandoned but not bad.   The architecture was similar to those you found in Bali I might say…sans the facility (only 2 foam mattress, couple of pillows, blankets but that’s about enough to crash for one night and the most important the sheets were fresh and nice smell) you can ask the caretaker for making you dinner and breakfast for a small fee as well.  After making the bed and put our stuff into the bungalow we headed back to the front area of the premise and took ourselves to a path which leading to the beach, the path  stretched across two paddy fields.

I was very happy, a virgin beach in front of my eyes, and not long after that (after taking several pictures for Yufi, I have to get him pay for this extra work on holiday..) we took a stroll along the beach and taking some more pictures, the sun was dimmed already and there was no sunset though as it was a bit cloudy…we continued to sit on the balcony of the bungalow, watching the waves rolled towards the beach, aahhh heaven…at least for a minute or two, I could forget about work,   this was  also because I couldn’t get any signal on my cell hahahaha.  I sat there for quite sometime listening to my MP3 player while starring blankly at the shore just enjoying the moment,  Yufi made two cups of coffee and sat next to me also watching the view.   It was a bliss….when can I have this kind of place…..perhaps one day…

The caretaker’s wife delivered our dinner consisted of “ayam kampung goreng, sambel, kerupuk, tumis kangkung, lalap timun dan nasi panas” fantastic coyyyyy!!!!  Man we stuffed ourselves with the food as we haven’t eaten properly all day

Took a shower under the star – yep the shower area doesn’t have any roof on, so someone could actually peep through the bathroom when you are showering hahahaha but it didn’t happen.   Quite cool though the bathroom.

Another session of sitting doing nothing on the porch looking at farmers harvesting the paddy, yes it was quite late and dark but they had to do it before someone chop off all the paddy…

Trying to get some sleep but it was kinda stuffy (we decided to open the porch’s door and let the wind gets into the room) and this little thing, definitely was not a mosquito but something else, kept creeping their way on my skin – I think there is something about the rumbia roof..they are invested by things – since I am allergic to any kind of bugs with venom including semut merah and all, not to mention this unknown bugs ( and I left my antihistamine tablets home) I covered my body with the blanket and I could stole some sleep although I can’t really say it was a peaceful sleep.  Yufi on the other hand couldn’t sleep soundly at all,  he was kinda up all night..poor thing.  Yufi slept in the morning for another 2 hours or less to gather energy because we still have a long way ahead and he needs energy to stay focus and anyway we were enjoying this and no rush at all.

Day 2

Anyway we got ready by 10.30 am and put back all the top and side boxes on its place, put on our jacket, knee guard, helmet and gloves we left the bungalow and headed to Pameungpeuk.  Yufi is planning to take Friday praying somewhere along the way, we arrived in time for Friday praying in Santolo Beach, great.  Along the route to Pameungpeuk / Santolo Beach we stopped by a couple of bridges to admire the view – paddy field, river flowing in between and the ocean on the background – great eh? not your everyday kinda view…

After Yufi has finished with Friday praying and I also have done Dhuhur praying we got on to a boat to cross the estuary to Santolo Island, you could actually hop into the river if you want, to but we had a limited supply of clothing…the island was quiet, lots of food stalls from one corner to the other, I bet this place is very packed in the weekend.  We took a stroll along the beach, nice beach with yellow sandy beach, there were some coral walls scattered along the beach

Finished with a bit of exploring the island we headed back to the mainland to have lunch, it  was already 3 something in the afternoon, our late lunch was consisted of  grilled ikan cue / kue with nasi liwet, tumis kangkung, sambal, lalap timun…what a bliss and we thought it is going to cost heaps, but it was only Rp.80,000 for the lot, man thinking about living there…hahahaha

Anyhow, we geared up and continued on to our last destination on the itinerary, Garut. Okay I thought we are so damned lucky that we haven’t encountered any rain at all, I was wrong, it was raining cats and dogs along the way to Garut.  We stopped everywhere and passed Gunung Gelap (Yufi has all the photos) we stopped in many places, Cikajang, everywhere, at some point towards making a stop because the rain blinding our sight for the road, Yufi  lost control of the bike, he skidded instead of stopping because the ground was slippery, lucky we could jump off before the bike fell.

It was bloody cold, windy and raining, I couldn’t feel my hand anymore, the gloves were soaked, not too mentioned our raining coat, couldn’t handle the 4 hours rain eh

Finally we got to Garut, stayed at this little hotel called Alamanda, located in Terogong, Garut.  Took a shower, had dinner (it was bloody cheap, Rp.66,000 for  2 steak and 2 drinks not too shabby) decided to take a reflexology hehehehe and since it was still raining hard we decided to stay at the hotel and watching TV only….so sad.

Day 3

Think of positive stuff  and hoping that the rain will clear up tomorrow so we could go to Papandayan Mountain to catch the sunrise, apparently Yufi woke up at 3 am and it was still raining hard…so we didn’t go (poor Yufi, he didn’t get a chance last time and this time all because of the rain, next time hubby..)

So we decided to continue our beauty sleep.  As the rain stopped a little we got ourselves ready and left at around 10 am in the morning and went straight to Situ Bageundit, looked like Danau Lido in Sukabumi to me,  they should have taken care of this place to make it more interesting..

We headed to Bandung straight away because we could see a dark cloud hanging, ready to pouring water.  We took the Rancaekek route, on the newly made road (was it Nagrek?) we saw a bus right in front of us sliding down couldn’t handle its weight because of the steep upward slope, lucky it didn’t get pass us, and people in the bus were safe because the driver banged the bus into the dirt wall so that it holds the bus preventing it to sliding down further..scary…

I told Yufi to take it easy, a lot of alays riding as they were in a racing circuit, so let them be..you know sometimes a guy can be provoked by stupid things like that….actually there are alays everywhere along the route with their so called  modified bikes, I guess it is cool for them..but not safe for others. you just have to cool it, it is so NOT COOL eh

We get to Cileunyi around 12 PM, man a crowded city road, gosh living in a big city is so stressful.  Since we were meeting Mbak Ari at her MW100, we took Dago Pakar route, but squeezed in some time to stop by Gedung Sate to take some pictures.  Since our tummies were crying out loud already we headed to Burgundy in Lembang a nice restaurant as pointed by Mbak Ari last time she lent us her MW100.  A nice romantic place and nice food.

Yufi’s bike fell and banged into a pot full of plant hehehe because the wind was quite harsh and the bike wasn’tbeing stand properly.  Yufi had beef ribs with spiced potato cubes while I had grilled gindara with spiced potato cubes and we got to get a free dessert at the end,  thank you Kang Denny for the hospitality, will come back for anniversary dinner in March hehehehe

We didn’t have a chance to meet Mbak Ari at her MW100, she was out to Maribaya getting some orchid plants, she asked us to wait for another 20 minutes, but the sky was so dark and I was planning to go to Rumah Mode to get something for Cica .  So we left after giving a  little souvenir from Garut (I got a chance to talk to her sweet little boy Adrien) we took off.

Didn’t go to Rumah Mode either, headed straight to Padalarang through Leles, we sort of popped up behind the Padalarang train station.  After deciding which route to take, I choose to go through Puncak, we headed to Cianjur.  Yufi was a bit drifted away because the road was hot mix and lots of people speeding, but as usual, I don’t like it so banged his helmet reminding him to be cautious…this was supposed to be an enjoyable trip, you want to speeding, do it in a circuit…..

We stopped in Cipanas – while thinking which way is to Jayanti Beach……hehehehehehe

The wind was very cold – couldn’t feel my hand but I loved it, haven’t been to Puncak for ages..it was still packed with people, most of them were Jakartan, we need a place to chillax I guess…..

Puncak never dies I supposed looking by the car queuing to go up and go down.  We stopped by in Bogor’s Macaroni  Panggang after we couldn’t find this place where they sell Poffertjes..I guess I was hallucinating last time….

The food was okay, huge and expensive..I think I could make better baked macaroni hehehehehe…

at last the last leg of our trip..going home…

We arrived at 11 PM, Cica was already asleep…O Man nothing beats the comfort of your own home…

So I guess, Monday is business as usual

Thank Yufi for the trip…….love you heaps

Published by

intansaribulan

A life admirer and a wanderer

2 thoughts on “Motorbike Tripping”

Leave a Reply

